India did not participate in UNSC vote against merger of 4 states of Ukraine with Russia India did not participate in UNSC vote against merger of 4 states of Ukraine with Russia


news nation bureau , edited by : iftekhar ahmed , Updated: 01 October 2022, 10:39:12 am


India did not participate in the vote against Russia at the UNSC (Photo Credits: FILE PHOTO)


  • This proposal could not be accepted due to veto by Russia.
  • 10 of the 15 countries involved in the conference voted in favor of the resolution
  • India, China, Gabon and Brazil did not participate in the vote

New Delhi:

India on Friday refrained from voting at the UN Security Council on a draft resolution condemning Russia’s “illegal referendum” and annexation of four Ukrainian territories. Along with India, China, Gabon and Brazil did not participate in the vote. At the same time, 10 out of 15 countries voted in favor of the resolution. However, the proposal could not be accepted due to a veto by Russia. The Security Council of 15 countries voted on the draft resolution submitted by the US and Albania to the UN Security Council. The resolution condemned Russia’s “alleged illegal referendum in areas within Ukraine’s internationally recognized borders”. During pre-voting discussions on the resolution, India’s Permanent Representative Ruchira Kamboj called for an immediate end to the violence in Ukraine and stressed the need to find ways to return to the negotiating table.

‘Dialogue is the only solution to resolve differences and disputes’
Kamboj said that India is deeply disturbed by the recent developments in Ukraine. He said that New Delhi has always advocated that no solution can come at the cost of human life. “We urge that all efforts be made by the parties concerned to immediately end the violence and hostility. Dialogue is the only answer to resolve differences and disputes, no matter how difficult it may be at the time. We need to keep all avenues of diplomacy open for the road to peace, he said. Kamboj said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi has also clarified India’s position in his talks with world leaders including Russian President Vladimir Putin and Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky.

‘Today is not the age of the era’
He also referred to the statements made by External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar on Ukraine during the high-level General Assembly session last week. While reiterating his recent remarks after PM Modi’s meeting with Putin, he said that today is not the era of war. Kamboj said New Delhi looked forward to an immediate ceasefire and resumption of peace talks to resolve the conflict. He said India’s position has been clear from the beginning of this conflict, that the global order is based on the principles of the United Nations Charter, international law and the principles of respect for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of all states. Bahna Baazi or Tansana’s bedana is in one’s hit.

India voted against Russia only once
Notably, India voted against Russia for the first time on August 24, 2022 during a “procedural vote” at the UN Security Council on Ukraine, as the 15-member powerful UN Security Council held a video telephonic conversation with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky. – Conference was held. In addition India refrained from voting against Russia at every opportunity.

Russian move illegal in resolution
The resolution against Russia said that Russia had invalidated the referendums held between 23 and 27 September this year in four Ukrainian states of Luhansk, Donetsk, Kherson and Zaporizhia. The resolution states that the status of these regions of Ukraine cannot be the basis for any change in legitimacy, including the “alleged annexation” of any of these regions by Moscow.

Related Articles

First published: 01 October 2022, 10:39:12 am

all latest. for world news, download news nation Android And iOS mobile apps.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here