WhatsApp is rolling out a new update for Android smartphones that brings the ability to create communities. The feature is currently said to be available to a limited number of beta testers. The Meta-proprietary communication platform was previously seen operating on the Community tab. This upcoming feature will allow WhatsApp users to create ‘communities’ that can host up to 10 sub-groups with up to 512 participants in each sub-group.
According to A Report Via WhatsApp feature tracker WABetaInfo, WhatsApp beta version 18.104.22.168 for Android brings the ability to create communities. According to reports, this feature is currently available to a limited number of beta testers.
This update replaces the Camera tab in the top left corner of the app with a Community tab. According to the feature tracker, this tab allows users to create communities with up to 10 sub-groups, while one sub-group is said to be able to support 512 participants.
The report further states that community members can select a sub-group of their choice when joining a new community. They are also allowed to leave sub-groups without leaving the community. Community administrators are supposed to have the ability to disable communities. This update allows members to report the community on WhatsApp.
WhatsApp automatically creates an announcement group when a user creates a new community. This group can supposedly be used by a community administrator to share messages that are always visible to all members of the community.
WhatsApp for Android beta version 22.214.171.124 is also compatible with the community feature. However, users are said to be able to join communities if the feature is enabled for their accounts. According to WABetaInfo, after installing compatible updates, users are unable to join communities even after being added by a community administrator.
According to a recent report, WhatsApp is also working on a feature that will allow users to hide their phone numbers from specific WhatsApp sub-groups of the community, through a setting that is expected to be available once the feature is rolled out to all users. .